(September 4th, 2023) – While fireworks flew over Dave O’Blenis’s (#48) huge Pro Stock 250 triumph on Sunday, plenty of racing action earlier in the day set the stage for the biggest race of the year. Five divisions – a mix of Speedway 660 house classes and regional touring series’ – competed in front of the large SpeedWeekend crowd with thrilling shows in all divisions.

The Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter division contested their second race of the weekend Sunday afternoon, with a first-time winner claiming glory in front of the large SpeedWeekend crowd. Terry Lawson (#14) held off Alex Gallant (#5) and Daniel Atyeo (#15) for a popular victory in an all-Minto podium. Gallant mounted several charges over the caution free race but was unable to take the win from Lawson. Points leader Darren Wilcox (#32) crossed the line in fourth, with Matt Martin (#33) charging to a top five finish.

Lawson and Wilcox won heat races to set the sixteen (16) car field. Several drivers were still recovering from damage from a multi-car incident on Friday night, but Randy Titus (#75) rebounded from a flip to notch a sixth-place finish.

Danny Chisholm (#87) was a big money winner on the weekend in the CrossRoads Maritime League of Legends Tour. Chisholm claimed the CYV Chevrolet 40 on Saturday – which paid a cool $750 to win. Sunday, Chisholm backed it up winning the CARS Automotive 40 picking up another $750 winners’ cheque, plus a bonus $750 for winning both races to make for a $2250 weekend! Josh Langille (#18) finished second while Tanton Wooldridge (#0) rebounded from a Saturday wreck to round out the podium. Gage Gilby (#25) and Caden Tufts (#00) posted top five results.

Twenty (20) Maritime League of Legends entries were in attendance. Nathan Langille (#19) and Ayden Christensen (#24) claimed heat race wins.

Doug Matchett (#75) has been trying for over a decade to score an Atlantic Modified Tour victory at Speedway 660. On Sunday afternoon, he did just that, taking the lead early and holding off Chris Wilson (#2W) on a late race restart for not only his first Speedway 660 victory, but a SpeedWeekend Sunday victory. While Wilson finished second, former SpeedWeekend winner Yves McCray (#58) rounded out the podium on the eleven (11) car field. Zean Dutcher (#55) and Conrad Murphy (#89) would also grab top five finishing positions on the final sprint after a spin for Friday night winner Braxton Stafford (#91) in the waning laps.

Only one caution slowed the thirty-five (35) lap feature. Stafford and Matchett would be victorious in heat race competition.

Donny Young (#55) was a popular winner in the Heart of a Champion Hot Rod Classic Steele Buick GMC 30 lap main event. Young won over Peter Lawerence (#99) and Ontario competitor Doug Fischer (#3). The race featured several twists, with Brian Northrup (#44) receiving a black flag, and then Stacey Clements (#72) losing power while leading the race, opening the door for Young. Young and Fischer won heat races to kick-off the day for the nine (9) car field.

Landon Pierce (#19) completed a weekend sweep of the Bandolero Blast at Speedway 660 in a dominating weekend performance. Pierce would cruise to his second victory in as many days over Sam MacDonald (#14) and Mandi Lee (#41). Heat race winner Hudson Ruff (#83) and Bristol Matthews (#99) completed the top five in the ten (10) car field.

Only one weekend remains on the 30th anniversary calendar for Speedway 660, and it’s a big one with the Riverview Honda Weekend of Champions! Saturday September 23rd will be the Night of Champions for all four stock car classes, and Sunday September 24th the season will wrap up with the Enduro 300! Stay tuned for more information.

Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter 30-Lap Feature Results

  1. Terry Lawson #14
  2. Alex Gallant #5
  3. Daniel Atyeo #15
  4. Darren Wilcox #32
  5. Matt Martin #33
  6. Randy Titus #75
  7. Brian Crossman #70
  8. Curtis Tremblay #00
  9. Brian Maillet #83
  10. Todd Day #4
  11. Ryan Bernard #68
  12. John Richard #7
  13. Wesley Harnish #61
  14. Tyler Raeburn #28
  15. Nicholas MacKenzie #48

DNS – Randy Storey #92

Heat Winners – Terry Lawson, Darren Wilcox

Maritime League of Legends CARS Automotive 40 Results

  1. Danny Chisholm #87
  2. Josh Langille #18
  3. Tanton Wooldridge #0
  4. Gage Gilby #25
  5. Caden Tufts #00
  6. Nathan Blackburn #44
  7. Ayden Christensen #24
  8. Colton Noble #03
  9. Nathan Langille #19
  10. Chase MacKay #71
  11. Teagan Dempsey #23
  12. Devin Wadden #20
  13. Chase Livingston #39
  14. Kelsey Hann #07
  15. Buddy Geldart #78
  16. Aiden MacDonald #13
  17. Dawson Noble #8
  18. Brayden Wadden #14
  19. Nate Singer #81

DNS – Brad Wadden #73

Heat Winners – Nathan Langille, Ayden Christensen

*Results are unofficial until published by series management  

Atlantic Modified Tour 35-Lap Feature Results

  1. Doug Matchett #75
  2. Chris Wilson #2W
  3. Yves McCray #58
  4. Zean Dutcher #55
  5. Conrad Murphy #89
  6. Tristin Harris #7
  7. Braxton Stafford #91
  8. TJ Leighton #29
  9. Kevin Bailey #4
  10. Joe Hoyt #17
  11. Jamie Weston #81

Heat Winners – Braxton Stafford, Doug Matchett

*Results are unofficial until published by series management  

Bandolero Blast 20-Lap Feature Results

  1. Landon Pierce #19
  2. Sam MacDonald #14
  3. Mandi Lee #41
  4. Hudson Ruff #83
  5. Bristol Matthews #99
  6. Tylar Dempsey #22
  7. Wyatt Peters #33
  8. Will Silliker #2x
  9. Lily Whynot #2

Heat Winner – Hudson Ruff

Heart of a Champion Hot Rod Classics 30-Lap Feature Results

  1. Donny Young #55
  2. Peter Lawerence #99
  3. Doug Fischer #3
  4. Stacey Clements #72
  5. Patty Lawerence #U2
  6. Steven Curtis #12
  7. Laurie Hutt #35
  8. Brian Northrup #44

DNS – Jim Rankin #63

Heat Winners – Donny Young, Doug Fischer *Results are unofficial until published by series management

Share Button