Night of Champions Photo Album

(Aug. 28, 2016) The 2016 version of Speedway 660’s Night of Champions was an incredible racing event. Championships and Rookie of the Year Awards were decided and there were a couple of first-time feature winners. We’ve got it all in the Night of Champions Photo Album.  


Matt Martin sharp shooter heat winner Aug 27, 2016Matt Martin was the first visitor to the Riverview Ford Victory Lane on the Night of Champions. Matt, who has made big strides since the season opener, wins the first Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter heat race.Tyler Crocker sharp shooter heat winner Aug 27, 2016It was a BIG night for the Crocker brothers. Tyler, who recently became the new “Mister Maritime Hustle”, takes the checkers in the second sharp shooter heat.Shawn Hyslop Street heat win Aug 27, 2016Shawn Hyslop showed up Saturday night for a little shake-down in preparation for  SpeedWeekend’s DMR Auto Sales Street Stock 50. The car & driver both looked great and Shawn parks his BAM Racing machine in victory lane in the first street stock heat race.Riley Goodwin street heat win Aug. 27, 2016“When your Hot, Your Hot”. Riley Goodwin has been on a roll for over a month and continues his torrid pace by winning the second street stock heat.Jason Shannon sportsman heat win Aug 27, 2016Jason Shannon is running a part-time schedule in 2016. On Saturday night Jason showed everyone he is ready for A.E. McKay Builders 150 on SpeedWeekend, by winning the first sportsman heat race.Alex OBlenis sportsman heat win Aug 27, 2016With her own car in the shop for extensive repairs,  Alexandra O’Blenis had to borrow her sister’s car on Saturday night. She then promptly drove it into victory lane in the second Martins Home Heating Sportsman heat race!Chris Duncan pro heat win Aug 27, 2016Chris Duncan made his first Speedway 660 appearance of 2016 count by winning the first Re/Max Group Four Realty Pro Stock heat race in an EASY-KLEEN kinda way! Our 1994 and 2010 pro stock champ is looking forward to bringing the 97 back our way for SpeedWeekend.Ashton Tucker pro stock heat win Aug 27, 2016Ashton Tucker entered the Night of Champions second in the Pro Stock Rookie of the Year Award standings. The 2015 Bando champion would need a big night to claim rookie honours and he got off to a big start by winning the second pro stock heat.Tyler Crocker sharp shooter feature win Aug 27, 2016Tyler Crocker enjoyed his first visit to the Riverview Ford Victory Lane so much that he came back again as the winner in the Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter 20 lap feature. Great job young man!Kyle Boudreau 2nd sharp shooter feature Aug 27, 2016Kyle Boudreau drove the wheels off his little #81 and was second in the sharp shooter feature. The defending champ gave it his best shot but came up just a little short in his effort to take back-to-back titles.Curtis Collins 3rd place sharp shooter feature Aug 27, 2016Curtis Collins rolls home third on Saturday night. Curtis, a member of the Lonnie Sommerville Racing Team, will be working overtime this week helping prepare all of the LSR cars for SpeedWeekend!Grey Owl sharp shooter rookie of the year 2016Bob Colquhoun, who likes us to call him “Grey Owl” captures the 2016 Sharp Shooter Rookie of the Year Award. At 60 years of age, Grey Owl demonstrated its never too late to start your racing career!  That’s pretty awesome…Hoot – HOOT.Kyle MacKinnon 2016 sharp shooter champKyle MacKinnon is the 2016 Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter Champion. Kyle won some races and was consistent from Opening Day to the Night of Champions.  Congrats Kyle – any thoughts of moving up to street stock in 17?Matt Crocker street feature win Aug 27, 2016Earlier we said it was a big night for the Crocker brothers, so after Tyler won his sharp shooter heat and feature, the pressure was on big brother Matt. And he delivered with his first-ever DMR Auto Sales Street Stock feature win.Riley Goodwin street stock rookie Aug 27, 2016Riley Goodwin finished second with his third straight podium. This soon to be grade ten student is the DMR Auto Sales Street Stock Rookie of the Year.  That’s a pretty big accomplish for this 4th generation driver.Roger Slocum 3rd street stock feature Aug 27, 2016Rogers Slocum drove home third in the street stock feature. The 2013 champion was also awarded the “Smokin Joe Albert” memorial plaque for his commitment to street stock racing.Rob Raynes street stock champ Aug 27, 2016 Rob Raynes was awarded the 2016 DMR Auto Sales Street Stock championship. Drew Greenlaw sportsman feature winner Aug 27, 2016Drew Greenlaw drove the wheels off his race car to pick up his very first Martins Home Heating Sportsman feature win. Drew is off to the University of Maine at Orono this week, but he’ll be back up our way for the A.E. McKay Builders 150 on SpeedWeekend.Alex OBlenis 2nd sportsman feature Aug 27, 2016Alexandra O’Blenis had a strong second place finish in the sportsman feature. Her sister Courtney has got a big smile because that’s her car and she’ll be at the controls next Saturday night.Ryan Messer sportsman champ Aug 27, 2016Speaking of smiles, Ryan Messer had a pretty big Night of Champions smile. Not so much because he was third in the feature, but because Richard Martin presented him with the 2016 Martins Home Heating Sportsman Championship trophy. At 15, he’s the youngest sportsman champ in the history of Speedway 660. Now that’s reason to smile!Jacob Logan sportsman rookie award Aug 27, 2016Jacob Logan was pretty happy too. That’s because he kept improving every week and ended up winning the Sportsman Rookie of the Year Award. Jacob has got a very bright future in our sport.Chris Duncan 2nd pro stock feature Aug 27, 2016Chris Duncan followed up his heat win with a second place finish in the pro stock feature. Chris was really pleased with his “shake-down” run and is excited to come back on SpeedWeekend for the MacLaughlin Roof Trusses 250.Ashton Tucker pro stock rookie of the year Aug 27, 2016Remember how Ashton Tucker needed a big Night of Champions? Well after that heat race win, young Ashton finished 3rd in the feature and claimed the CRF Chassis Rookie of the Race Award, presented by GD Fabrication. Not only that, but Tucker also won the Re/Max Group Four Realty Pro Stock Rookie of the Year Award. Now that’s a big night for a kid about to go into grade ten!Greg Fahey pro stock champ Aug 27, 2016Greg Fahey didn’t get off to a great start in the first month of the 2016 racing season, but he won the feature for the third week in a row on the Night of Champions. And that made Fahey a four-time Re/Max Group Four Realty Pro Stock champ. It was Greg’s 7th overall championship, tying him with the great Brian Gillespie atop the Speedway 660 championship mountain! 

Thanks for checking out our Night of Champions Photo Album.




Share Button