Fireworks Fly as Maillet wins Firecracker 150!!!

Fredericton, NB –Saturday night over 4000 fans were treated to some fantastic racing at Speedway 660.   Some of the best sportsman cars from all over Atlantic Canada make their way to the Geary Woods for the Firecracker 150.  The second big sportsman event of the year saw 30 cars try to qualify for 24 spots in the main event.     Fans of the speedway were treated to some amazing weather to go along with the great on track racing.   There was also racing in the Atlantic Open Wheel Modifieds as well as the street stock division.

In the Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman division the Firecracker 150 was the main event for the night and it did not disappoint.   George Jamieson took the pole position by winning the first heat and Ken Mackenzie was on the outside pole.  Right out of the gate Mackenzie took the lead and was strong throughout.  On lap 65, Mackenzie got caught up in lapped traffic and fell all the way back to fourth after being caught on the inside lane behind a lapped car.  That allowed the veteran Glyn Nott to take over the lead followed by Matt Maillet and Dave Bigger.   That’s the way they would complete the first seventy five laps.   After the competition yellow at lap75, Nott started where he left off to continue leading the race until lap 123.   Going into to turn three Nott got into the 44 of George Jamieson trying to make a pass and putt Jamieson down an additional lap.    When the collision happened Dave Bigger was unfortunately collected as part of the incident.  That cleared the front row sending Bigger to the pits and Nott to the back of the lead lap cars.    That left young Matt Maillet to inherent first place for the restart.   Maillet made no mistake powering his Chevrolet to the front and holding on to take the Firecracker 150.   That gives Maillet the biggest win of his career.    Ken Mackenzie and Myles Harris rounded out the top three with Nott never recovering from the incident on lap 123.

In the Leisure Street Stock division Rick Cashol increased lead with another 1st place finish.  Cashol took the lead halfway through the event when Heidi Cooper who has leading the race got caught up in lapped traffic on the high side of the speedway.  That allowed Cashol to make the pass on the inside and power his #54 to the front of the field.   Peter Gaddess and Matt Matheson had strong cars all night and rounded out the top three respectively.

In the Atlantic Open Wheel Modified tour, 15 cars took the Geary woods with local native Mark Price in his #9 taking home the checkered flag.  Price started deep in the field and took the lead late in the race never to relinquish it.   Rounding out the top three were the #3 of  Ken Deveaux  and the #17 of Joe Hoyt.
Speedway 660 resumes action next Saturday night August 14th with the Max 1 Advanced Synthetic Pro Stock 150 presented by COASTAL Blending & Packaging that was rescheduled from earlier in the year.  The winner of the 150 lap main event will earn a birth into this years Pro Stock 250.

Firecracker Sportsman 150
(150 laps)
Pos # Driver Hometown
1 29 Matt Maillet Oromocto, NB
2 85 Ken Mackenzie Salisbury, NB
3 31 Myles Harris Nasonworth, NB
4 80 Dan McNeil Douglas, NB
5 1 Michael Banks Lake George, NB
6 12 Glyn Nott Burton, NB
7 44 George Jamieson Fredericton, NB
8 28 John Rankin St.Martins, NB
9 34 Randy Moore Saint John, NB
10 33 Charlie Wilkins Keswick, NB
11 31F Freddy Prosser Shenstone, NB
12 37 Jacob Logan Harvey, NB
13 81W Jamie Weston Bains Corner,
14 44S Steve Seveck TemperanceVale, NB
15 70 Dave Biggar Lake George, NB
16 99 Shawn Hyslop St. Stephen, NB
17 87 Matt Harris Fredericton Jct., NB
18 41 Robert Raynes Nrth Summerville, NB
19 9 Derek Christie Fredericton, NB
20 26 Brent Roy Hanwell, NB
21 45 Calvin Rankin Quispamsis, NB
22 7 Robbie Fraser Riverview, NB
23 40 Richard Atkinson Geary, NB
24 11 Cal Hatfield Rothesay, NB
25 43 Shawn McLean Petitcodiac, NB
26 3 Steve Halpin Saint John, NB
Leisure Family Street Stock Feature
(20 laps)
Pos # Driver Hometown
1 54 Rick Cashol Saint John, NB
2 20 Peter Gaddess Minto,
3 2 Matt Matheson French Lake, NB
4 23 Mike Francis Saint John, NB
5 1 Heidi Cooper Fredericton, NB
6 11 Rodney Ness Hanwell, NB
7 83 Trent Noble Tracy, NB
8 10 Devin Snell Rowley, NB
9 28 Jason Shannon Hoyt, NB
10 8 Benji Ruff Carlew,
11 54P Paul Miller Minto, NB
12 4 Richard Hartley Saint John, NB
13 15 Roger Slocum Quispamsis, NB
14 93 Chuck Morton ,
15 4 Joe Albert Minto, NB
16 18 Shannon Brake Quispamsis, NB
17 13 Jack Lane Geary, NB
18 99 Rob Pethick Nackawic, NB
19 29 Kevin McKeen Upper Kingsclear, NB
20 5 Brad Slipp Saint John, NB
AOW Modified Feature
(40 laps)
Pos # Driver Hometown
1 9 Mark Price Saint John, NB
2 3 Ken Deveau Saint John, NB
3 17 Joe Hoyt Waasis, NB
4 10 Gordon Stewart
5 51 Dana Weston St. Martin’s, NB
6 61 Ricky Arbeau Fredericton, NB
7 98 Mike Raeburn Hampton, NB
8 64 Paul Constain Moncton, NB
9 44 Chris Quartermain Hoyt, NB
10 43 Shelly Stewart Emerald, PEI
11 96 Joel Hatt
12 14 Dale Young Mount Hope, NB
13 15 Mark McCully Quispamsis, NB
Share Button