Record Payday for Johnny Clark as he Dominates the Auto Value 250!!

September 5, 2010
Fredericton, NB - The biggest motorsports event in Atlantic Canada once again did not disappoint with a record crowd of over 8000 attending the Auto Value 250 and a dominating performance by Johnny Clark. Thirty seven cars attempted to qualify for just 28 spots. Clark who qualified through his heat started 5th on the starting grid and made his way to the front just 17 laps into the main event. Pole sitter Shawn Turple would lead the initial 16 laps but the 54 of Clark tracked him down in dominating fashion.

Clark would lead the next 161 laps, only relinquishing the lead because he had to pit for tires and fuel. That opened the door for “Big” Kevin Moore in his #88. Moore led the next few laps only to be caught by the powerful Clark who would lead until lap 187 when Shawn Turple in his #0 and the 54 got together as Turple was attempting a pass on the leader. That sent the two front runners to the rear and allowed Jonathan Hicken to assume the lead. The lead was again short lived as Clark again made his way to the front in under 20 laps. On lap 208, Clark would take the lead for the final time, weaving his way through lap traffic on his way to a record payday of $ 26,350. A record held by the late Scott Fraser. Clark led a total of 208 laps including the Bulletproof Solutions Halfway Challenge.

Clark said after the race “I never get tired of winning races and especially big ones like this” Clark became the second two timer winner of the event with Lonnie Sommerville being the first in 2009. Rounding out the top three with strong performances were Shawn Turple in 2nd and Shawn Tucker in 3rd place. Both drivers said after the race “they had nothing” for the 54 of Clark.

In the Street Stock division, Peter Gaddess made a nice move on the 54 of Rick Cashol in the dying laps of the 50 lap event. Cashol took home a 2nd place finish while Matt Matheson rounded out the top three.

In the other support division, the Cummins Diesel Legends put on a great show in their 35 lap main event with Steve Pye taking home the checkered flag followed by the legend Cy Harvey and Paul Blenkhorn rounding out the top three.
SPEEDWEEKEND resumes action on Monday with the O’Leary Buick GMC 150 going at 1 pm. The best sportsman cars from all over the Maritimes will head to the Geary woods for a 150 lap main event.

Auto Value 250 – Unoficial Results
Fin Car Driver Hometown
1 54ME Johnny Clark Hallowell, ME
2 0 Shawn Turple Enfield, NS
3 52 Shawn Tucker Killarney Road, NB
4 29X Greg Proude Nth Wiltshire, PEI
5 17T Travis Benjamin Morrill, NB
6 5 Jonathan Hicken Montague. PEI
7 77ME Scott Chubbuck Dresden, ME
8 99 Craig Slaunwhite White Lakes, NS
9 23 Lonnie Sommerville Saint John, NB
10 44 Wayne Smith Timberlea, NS
11 28 Kirk Thibeau Presque Isle, ME
12 88 Kevin Moore Pepper Creek, NB
13 97 Chris Duncan Kingston, NB
14 8 Kent Vincent Crapaud, PEI
15 66M Daryl Mahar Hubley, NS
16 20 Greg Fahey St. Stephen, NB
17 48 Dave O’Blenis Boundary Creek, NB
18 87 Matt Harris Fredericton Jct., NB
19 69 Brian Gillespie Nackawic, NB
20 30 Travis Kittleson Merritt Island, ME
21 66 Paul Gahan Lower St Mary’s, NB
22 18 Darren Mackinnon Winsloe, PEI
23 10 Johnny Benson Cornelius, NC
24 26 Mike Stevens Colpitts Settlement, NB
25 89 Donald Chisholm Antigonish, NS
26 35 Brad Mann Glen Livet, NB
27 8N Ben Rowe Turner, ME
28 17 Brent Wiggins Fredericton, NB
Fredericton Hyundai Street Stock 50
Fin Car Driver Hometown
1 20 Peter Gaddess Minto, NB
2 54 Rick Cashol Saint John, NB
3 2 Matt Matheson Geary, NB
4 69 Matt Banks Lower Kingsclear, NB
5 4 Joe Albert Minto, NB
6 29 Kevin McKeen Upper Kingsclear,NB
7 99 Rob Pethick Nackawic, NB
8 13 Jack Lane Geary, NB
9 10 Devin Snell Rowley,NB
10 1 Heidi Cooper Hanwell, NB
11 4 Richard Hartley Saint John,NB
12 41 Peter Martin Saint John,NB
13 18 Shannon Brake Quispamsis, NB
14 54P Paul Miller Minto, NB
15 8 Benji Ruff Carlow, NB
16 83 Trent Noble Tracy, NB
17 23 Mike Francis Saint John, NB
18 11 Rodney Ness Hanwell, NB
19 93 Chuck Morton Lincoln NB
20 5 Brad Slipp Saint John, NB
21 28 Jason Shannon Hoyt, NB
22 61 Josh Arbeau Fredericton, NB
23 40 Bill Belleville Saint John, NB
Cummins Legend Feature
Pos No. Name
1 6 Steve Pye
2 37 Cy Harvey
3 13 Paul Blenkhorn
4 38 Darren Sherwood
5 98 Jerry Austin
6 72 Brad Eddy
7 67 Dillon Blenkhorn
8 55 Ray Cox Jr.
9 29 Kyle Campbell
10 53 Shelby Baker
11 10 Justin McNeil
12 7 Jeff Cruickshank
13 0 Bradey Creamer
14 46 Derek McCullum
15 33 Gary Dunning
16 1 Matt Moore
17 48 Cory MacLean
18 14 Scott Cunning
19 36 Tony Gaudet
Share Button