Joey Doiron wins the 250!

(Sept. 4, 2016) A driver from Berwick, Maine rolled to victory lane in the McLaughlin Roof Trusses 250 on Sunday night at Speedway 660. Joey Doiron was fast at the end of the race when it mattered most and won the biggest event of his career. Cassius Clark, the 2015 winner, was second while Ben Rowe was third in an all Maine podium.


“We pitted fairly late in the race and when we came back on the track the car was the best it had been all night and we were able to work our way to the front” said Doiron from the Riverview Ford Victory Lane. “I’ve been here a couple of times before and finished in the top five, but tonight was our night and here we are the winners of the McLaughlin Roof Trusses 250.”

The race provided lots of excitement for an almost capacity SpeedWeekend crowd.  Cassius Clark who led a bunch of laps in the race, including the Modern Electric thousand dollar half way challenge, was unable to chase down Doiron in the final few laps and had to settle for second.

“Congratulations to Joey on his big win, we pitted at the same time and I beat him out of the pits, but missed a shift on the restart and was unable to catch him after that” said Clark. “I love coming to Speedway 660, especially on SpeedWeekend, and we’ll be back here next year and try to win this big race for a third time.”

Ben Rowe, driving for Hal O’Neal, made a late pass on Dave O’Blenis to take the third and final podium spot. O’Blenis led several laps in the race, but after being overtaken by both Doiron and Clark he got caught up in lapped traffic and was passed by Rowe.PIC_0165Doiron (#73) and Cassius Clark battled each other hard for the win, but in the end it was Doiron who got to the stripe first to pick up the McLaughlin Roof Trusses 250 victory.

“Dave and I raced each other hard for the final podium spot and I was fortunate enough to be able to use the lapped traffic to my advantage and take that spot” said Rowe. I love coming to 660 for this race, there’s always a great crowd and we’ll keep coming back because winning the McLaughlin Roof Trusses 250 is pretty high up on my racing bucket-list.”250 podium 2016Joey Doiron (center), Cassius Clark (right) and Ben Rowe finished on the podium in the McLaughlin Roof Trusses 250. Doiron collected almost $18000.00 for the win. 

Qualifying pro stock heat races were won by Dustin Tucker, Matt Harris, Craig Slaunwhite and Brady Creamer. Trevor Sanborn and Dave O’Blenis won the consolation races, while Derek Christie took the top spot in the last chance race.

Courtney O’Blenis wrapped up her Speedway 660 season by winning the DMR Auto Sales Street Stock 50. O’Blenis outdueled Rob Raynes for the win in an entertaining race, while Shawn Hyslop came home third. O’Blenis and Hyslop also won the street stock heat races.Courtney OBlenis 2016 street stock feature winner speedwkndCourtney O’Blenis was all business on SpeedWeekend Sunday. She went to victory lane for the 7th time this season and won the DMR Auto Sales 50 lap street stock feature. 

Mike Weagle won the Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter 30 lap feature on Sunday. Matt Crocker and Rob Poirier were second and third in the 27 car field. Poirier, Weagle and Ian Rasmussen won the heat races. Tim’s Corner Motorsports Bando Blast was won by Sam Rodgers. Josh Langille and Michael Cormier were second and third in the 30 lap feature. Cormier and Brayden Langille won the Bando heat races.Mike weagle sharp shooter feature winner speedwknd 2016Mike Weagle took the checkers in a great little Sharp Shooter feature. There were 27 of these little cars at Speedway 660 on Sunday!

Sam Rogers bando blast winner speedwknd 2016Sam Rogers won the Tim’s Corner Motorsports Bando Blast. Sam and the other Bando kids put on a great show for the SpeedWeekend crowd.

SpeedWeekend was the season finale on the Speedway 660 racing schedule. Race teams, sponsors and fans will now have to wait until May for  the 2017 season to begin.

SpeedWeekend Sunday Results

McLaughlin Roof Trusses Pro Stock 250

1. Joey Doiron (Berwick, ME), 2. Cassius Clark (Farmington, ME), 3. Ben Rowe (Beechridge, ME), 4. Joey Polewarczyk, 5. Craig Slaunwhite (Terence Bay, NS), 6. Dave O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 7. Kirk Thibeau (Presque Isle, ME), 8. Cole Butcher (Portes Lake, ), 9. Dustin Tucker (Fredericton, NB), 10. John Flemming (Williamswood, NS), 11. John Rankin (St.Martins, NB), 12. Brady Creamer (Miramichi, NB), 13. Devin Snell (Saint John, ), 14. Chris Duncan (Hampton, NB), 15. Ashton Tucker (Lyttleton, NB), 16. Matt Rodgers (Smithtown, NB), 17. Dylan Gosbee (Cornwall, ), 18. Greg Fahey (St. Stephen, NB), 19. Kevin Moore (Fredericton, NB), 20. Trevor Sanborn, 21. Matt Harris (Fredericton Jct., NB), 22. Derek Christie (Fredericton, NB), 23. Brent Roy (Hanwell, NB), 24. Lonnie Sommerville (Saint John, NB), 25. Paul Gahan (Lower St Mary’s, NB), 26. Braxton Stafford, 27. Sarah McKay (Quispamsis, ), 28. Glyn Nott (Burton, NB).

DMR Auto Sales Street Stock 50

1. Courtney O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 2. Robert Raynes (Summerville, NB), 3. Shawn Hyslop, 4. Nick Cudmore, 5. Luc McLaughlin (Geary, NB), 6. Riley Goodwin, 7. Benji Ruff (Carlow, NB), 8. Karl Schaefer, 9. Courtney Barton (Minto, NB), 10. Roger Slocum (Chipman, NB), 11. Randy Campbell (Quispamsis, NB), 12. Rick Cashol (Saint John, NB), 13. Destiny Enkel (Saint John, NB), 14. Gary Wade (Hampton, ), 15. Vance McMillian, 16. Matt Crocker (Fredericton, NB), 17. Bill Storey, 18. Noah Gillespie.

Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter 30 lap feature

1. Mike Weagle (Peticodiac, NB), 2. Matt Crocker (Fredericton, NB), 3. Rob Poirier, 4. Kyle Boudreau, 5. Curtis Collins, 6. Kyle MacKinnon, 7. Ian Rasmussen, 8. Rob Boutilier, 9. Allison Hall, 10. Matt Martin, 11. Patricia Taylor, 12. BJ Gillespie, 13. Ira Farnell (Lincoln, NB), 14. Chris Garnett (Saint John, NB), 15. Tyler Crocker, 16. Jeremy Doran (Fredericton, NB), 17. Kody Quinn, 18. Grey Owl, 19. Jerry Sommerville, 20. James McCoy, 21. Bryan Suttie (Keswick, NB), 22. Malcolm Suley (Clarendon, NB), 23. Brian Maillet, 24. Logan Power, 25. Aaron Bellville (Saint John) 26. Brody Levesque (Fredericton), 27. Mike Edwards.

Tim’s Corner Motorsports 30 lap Bando Blast

1. Sam Rogers, 2. Josh Langille, 3. Michael Cormier (Moncton, NB), 4. Nathan Langille, 5. Danny Chisholm, 6. Koven Lewis, 7. Sara Thorne, 8. Austin Tanner, 9. Greg Butler, 10. Malcolm Jollimore, 11. Olivia Thorne, 12. Nathen Blackburn, 13. Braden Langille (Shubenacadie, NS),


Share Button