Big Night for Team O’Blenis

(June 18, 2016) Dave O’Blenis won the Martins Home Heating Sportsman 125 on Saturday night, while his daughter Courtney took the checkered flag in the DMR Auto Sales Street Stock 30 lap feature. The O’Blenis victories highlighted action at Speedway 660, where fans were treated to some of the best racing of the season. 


Drew Greenlaw took the lead, just 12 laps into the big sportsman race. The Eastport, Maine driver dominated the race until Dave O’Blenis grabbed the lead with 20 laps to go. Greenlaw’s night ended on lap 123 when he and Ryan Messer crashed after battling hard for second place. Matt Rodgers finished second, while George Jamieson drove home third. Jamieson and Greenlaw won the sportsman heat races.

“Drew had a great car tonight and we were fortunate that caution came out around lap 100 to take away his big lead and give us a chance for the win” said Dave O’Blenis. “We saved our stuff earlier in the race and used our experience on those late restarts to win another big sportsman race.”Sportsman action 2016Dave O’Blenis (#48) used his many years of experience to take the lead from Drew Greenlaw and win the Martins Home Heating Sportsman 125.   

Courtney O’Blenis dominated the DMR Auto Sales Street Stock feature. It was her second feature win of the season. Rob Raynes continued his streak of podium finishes with a second, while Ryan Richard came home third. O’Blenis and Darcy O’Neill won the street stock heat races.

“I had a busy week studying for my final exams and working on the race car and it all paid off with a big win tonight” Courtney said. “The car was perfect tonight and with the school year now over this win is an awesome way to start my summer vacation.”Courtney OBlenis street stock feature win june 18, 2016Courtney O’Blenis was all smiles on Saturday night after winning her second street stock feature of the season. The 2015 street stock rookie of the year is off to a tremendous start in 2016.

Matt Harris won the Re/Max Group Four Realty Pro Stock feature on Saturday night. Harris had to work hard to wrestle the lead away from John Rankin who finished second, just ahead of Dustin Tucker. Brent Roy, who finished fourth, won the CRF Chassis Rookie of the Race Award, presented by GD Fabrication.  Glyn Nott and Tucker won the pro stock heat races.

“John and Dustin are just in their second year driving pro stocks and they were amazing tonight and we were pretty fortunate to get to victory lane” Harris said. “The car was the best it’s been all season and the Lonnie Sommerville Racing shop deserves credit for that because they gave me a great set-up tonight.”Matt Harris pro stock feature win june 18, 2016Matt Harris was a Re/Max Group Four realty Pro Stock feature winner on Saturday night. Harris is having a good season and hopes to be in contention for a championship when August rolls around. 

Speedway 660 resumes action next Saturday night with a Weekly Championship Point racing event. Then on July 2nd, the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour invades the Geary Woods for the Cummins 100.

Martins Home Heatin Sportsman 125:

1. Dave O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 2. Matt Rodgers (Smithtown, NB), 3. George Jamieson (Fredericton, NB), 4. Matt Maillet (Burton, NB), 5. Alexandra O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 6. Lonnie Sommerville (Saint John, NB), 7. Richard Atkinson (Haneytown, NB), 8. Jacob Logan (Harvey, NB), 9. Ryan Messer (Harvey, NB), 10. Drew Greenlaw (Eastport, ME), 11. Andrew Rodgers (Smithtown, NB), 12. Kenny MacKenzie Jr. (Salisbury, NB), 13. Hudson Weston (Saint John, NB), 14. Justin Cole (Harvey , NB), 15. Brent Roy (Hanwell, NB), 16. Brady Creamer (Miramichi, NB), 17. Ryan Raynes, 18. Corey Collins (Fredericton)

DMR Auto Sales Street Stock Feature:

1. Courtney O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 2. Robert Raynes (Summerville, NB), 3. Ryan Richard, 4. Roger Slocum (Chipman, NB), 5. Destiny Enkel (Saint John, NB), 6. Courtney Barton (Minto, NB), 7. Riley Goodwin, 8. Chris Hanley (St. Stephen, NB), 9. Darcy ONeil, 10. Karl Schaefer, 11. Rick Cashol (Saint John, NB), 12. Noah Gillespie,

Re/Max Group Four Realty Pro Stock Feature:

1. Matt Harris (Fredericton Jct., NB), 2. John Rankin (St.Martins, NB), 3. Dustin Tucker (Fredericton, NB), 4. Brent Roy (Hanwell, NB), 5. Kevin Moore (Fredericton, NB), 6. Ashton Tucker (Lyttleton, NB), 7. Greg Fahey (St. Stephen, NB), 8. Glyn Nott (Burton, NB), 9. Ian Rasmussen, 10. Jeff Doherty, 11. Devin Snell (Saint John, ), 12. Robert Tomlinson (Arthurette, NB), 13. Brandon Skidmore (Springhill, NS)







Share Button