Clark wins the Best of the Best 150

(June 4, 2016) Cassius Clark from Farmington, Maine came to Speedway 660 Saturday and ended up winning one of Atlantic Canada’s biggest pro stock races of the year. Clark led most of the race, but in the second half was constantly hounded by Greg Fahey in an incredible door-to-door battle. But in the end Clark won the MacLaughlin Roof Trusses Best of the Best 150. 


“We were really good in our heat race and the first 75 to 100 laps of the big race, but the car started to fall off a bit and Greg’s car came to life” said Clark. “He sure put the pressure on us and it was pretty cool racing side by side with him, but we came all the way up here to win and it sure was nice to do that tonight.”pro stock action 2016Cassius Clark (#13) and Greg Fahey put on an incredible show for Speedway 660 fans on Saturday night. The two drivers battled each other hard before Clark eventually emerged with the win.

It was the second straight year that Clark and Fahey battled each other for the Best of the Best 150 win. Last year Fahey got the win and Clark settled for second. For the second straight year Lonnie Sommerville came home in third place in the 23 car field. Clark, Steve Halpin and Nicholas Naugle won the pro stock heat races.

“I think we put on a pretty good show for the fans tonight and I always enjoy running with Cassius because he’s a guy you can trust to run you hard and clean out there” said Fahey. “We’re a little disappointed tonight, but he finished second to us last year and won the Irving Blending & Packaging 250, so maybe it’ll be our turn to win the big race on SpeedWeekend.”

Race fans were also treated to an incredible race in the Martins Home Heating Sportsman 40 lap feature. Justin Cole and Shawn Warren raced side by side up front for the entire race and on the final lap Warren managed to get to the stripe first. Ryan Messer was third for his third straight podium finish of the season. Colby Smith and George Jamieson won the Sportsman heat races.Shawn Warren Sportsman feature winner June 4, 2016Shawn Warren and his team were pretty happy on Saturday night. It was Shawn’s first Sportsman feature win in the last three years.

The Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter 15 lap feature had fans on the edge of their seats. Allison Hall led most of the race, but in the end Matt Crocker won it while Kyle MacKinnon drove home second and BJ Gillespie got his first ever podium with a third place finish.

Speedway 660 is back in action next weekend with a Weekly Championship Point race on Saturday night and the Capital City Auto Parts ENDURO 200 on Sunday afternoon. Then on June 18th the Martins Home Heating Sportsman 125 highlights action in the Geary Woods.Matt Crocker sharp shooter feature winner, June 04, 2016Matt Crocker had something to smile about on Saturday night. Matt hustled his way to a Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter feature win. 

MacLaughlin Roof Trusses Best of the Best Pro Stock 150

1. Cassius Clark (Farmington, ME), 2. Greg Fahey (St. Stephen, NB), 3. Lonnie Sommerville (Saint John, NB), 4. Ben Rowe (Beechridge, ME), 5. Kevin Moore (Fredericton, NB), 6. Derek Christie (Fredericton, NB), 7. Matt Harris (Fredericton Jct., NB), 8. Steve Halpin (Saint John, NB), 9. Kirk Thibeau (Presque Isle, ME), 10. Ashton Tucker (Lyttleton, NB), 11. John Rankin (St.Martins, NB), 12. Nicholas Naugle (Dartmouth, NS), 13. Dustin Tucker (Fredericton, NB), 14. Robert Tomlinson (Arthurette, NB), 15. Glyn Nott (Burton, NB), 16. Matt Rodgers (Smithtown, NB), 17. Brent Roy (Hanwell, NB), 18. Paul Gahan (Lower St Mary’s, NB), 19. Braxton Stafford, 20. Michael Kyle (Sussex, NB), 21. Ian Rasmussen, 22. Jeff Doherty, 23. Devin Snell (Saint John)

Martins Home Heating Sportsman Feature

1. Shawn Warren (Waasis, NB), 2. Justin Cole (Harvey , NB), 3. Ryan Messer (Harvey, NB), 4. George Jamieson (Fredericton, NB), 5. Courtney O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 6. Jacob Logan (Harvey, NB), 7. Drew Greenlaw (Eastport, ME), 8. Richard Atkinson (Haneytown, NB), 9. Alexandra O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 10. Andrew Rodgers (Smithtown, NB), 11. Corey Collins (Fredericton, ), 12. Hudson Weston (Saint John, NB), 13. Ryan Raynes, 14. Colby Smith (Cape Sable Island, NS), 15. Kyle Orr (Saint John, NB), 16. Darren Beatty (Lakeville Corner, NB)

Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter Feature

1. Matt Crocker (Fredericton, NB), 2. Kyle MacKinnon, 3. BJ Gillespie, 4. Brody Levesque (Fredericton, ), 5. Kyle Boudreau, 6. Curtis Collins, 7. Allison Hall, 8. Adam Gravel, 9. Grey Owl, 10. Bryan Suttie (Keswick, NB)



Share Button