The Crowning of Champions!

Fredericton, NB – It was a beautiful day for racing in the Geary Woods. A great day for crowning champions.  After being washed out on Saturday evening today’s Fan Appreciation day was a success.

In the Coast Tire Street Stock we saw a new champion being crowned. Brian Fox won his first Coast Tire Street Stock Championship.  Going into the feature there were just a couple points between Fox and Rick Cashol. Unfortunately Cashol had a mechanical problem which forced him to the pits. He came back and was still on the lead lap but he ran out of time and laps.  The rookie of the year was the # 4 of Richard Hartley.  Kevin McKeen was the other big story in the Street Stock division taking home the Robin’s Inn Hat Trick Award.  McKeen has been getting stronger each week.  Matt Matheson finished a close second as Charles Gaddess rounded out the top three.

In the Martin’s Home Heating everyone was on the edge of their seats with the points battle being so close.  Michael Banks headed into the day with the points lead but after the heats and dash he saw himself sitting in 2nd, two points behind John Rankin.  In the feature Banks was running mid field for most of the race and then moved up to be within a couple spots of Rankin.  Banks would pass Rankin and finish one spot ahead forcing the tie breaker for the championship.  ..  Rankin received the championship because he had more feature wins. This is the first championship for Rankin.  He has had a great season picking up a couple feature wins. Derek Christie won the 30 lap Sportsman feature. Christie was very strong holding off challenges from George Jamieson and Wade Harris who finished second and third.  The rookie of the year was Steve Halpin.   Halpin has been around racing for years with his family and this year was his rookie season in the Sportsman divsion.

Greg Fahey is now a repeat Irving Lubricant’s Pro Stock Champion.  Fahey was 12 point’s ahead of four time champion Glenn Rasmussen going into today.  Fahey had a good run in the 40-lap feature where he finished in second to Brian MacNaughton. Leon Christie was back at Speedway 660 again this week and quietly drove himself into third place. MacNaughton made a daring three wide pass for the lead to claim his first victory of the year.  Michael Kyle was the Irving Lubricant’s rookie of the year.

In the 4-cylinder division it was Robert Flowers taking home victory over Kyle Dunster and Kevin Peterson.

There was so much excitement going on at the speedway today. Race fans got a chance to go trackside to meet their favorite drivers in a pre-race autograph session. It was just Halloween in August for sure.  Fans were going around gathering treats and pictures and autographs from the drivers.  Congratulations once again to Brian Fox, John Rankin and Greg Fahey, they will definitely have some celebrating to do!

Irving Lubricants Pro Stock Feature (40 laps)
#    Driver    Hometown
1    18    Brian MacNaughton    Lwr Coverdale, NB
2    20    Greg Fahey    St. Stephen, NB
3    81    Glenn Rasmussen    New Denmark, NB
4    9    Leon Christie    Temperance Vale,
5    87    Matt Harris    F’ton Jct., NB
6    17    Brent Wiggins    Fredericton, NB
7    3    Brad Mann    Glenlevit, NB
8    97    Chris Duncan    Kingston, NB
9    12    Michael Kyle    Berwick, NB
10    88    Kevin Moore    Pepper Creek, NB
11    29    Robert Tomlinson    Arthurette, NB
12    69    Brian Gillespie    Nackawic, NB
13    7    Wayne Chase    Lake George, NB

Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman Feature (30 laps)
#    Driver    Hometown
1    9    Derek Christie    Fredericton, NB
2    44    George Jamieson    Fredericton, NB
3    5    Wade Harris    Canal, NB
4    80    Dan McNeil    Douglas, NB
5    1    Micheal Banks    Lake George, NB
6    28    John Rankin    St.Martins, NB
7    03    Steve Halpin    Saint John, NB
8    26    Brent Roy    Hanwell, NB
9    12    Glyn Nott    Burton, NB
10    40    Richard Atkinson    Geary, NB
11    70    Dave Biggar    Lake George, NB
12    31    Myles Harris    Nasonworth, NB
13    07    Robbie Fraser    Riverview,NB
14    43    Shawn McLean    Lewis Mountain, NB
15    83    Corey Little    Rowley, NB
16    85    Ken MacKenzie    Moncton, NB
17    34    Randy Moore    Saint John, NB
18    42    Matt Rodgers    Smithtown,NB
19    54    Rick Cashol    Saint John, NB
20    81    Cody Price    Campbell Sett NB
21    37    Bradley Logan    Harvey Station, NB
22    29    Matt Maillet    Burton, NB
23    88W    Jamie Weston    ,

Coast Tire Street Stock Feature (20 laps)
#    Driver    Hometown
1    29    Kevin McKeen    Upr Kingsclear, NB
2    2    Matt Matheson    Geary, NB
3    7    Charles Gaddess    Minto, NB
4    20    Jason Shannon    Hoyt, NB
5    41    Robert Raynes    Nrth Summerville, NB
6    88    Brian Fox    Burton, NB
7    15    Roger Slocum    Quispamsis, NB
8    11    Rodney Ness    Hanwell, NB
9    13    Jack Lane    Geary, NB
10    04    Joe Albert    Minto, NB
11    99    Shawn Hyslop    St. Stephen, NB
12    4    Richard Hartley    Saint John, NB
13    1    Heidi Cooper    Hanwell, NB
14    5    Brad Slipp    Saint John, NB
15    54    Rick Cashol    Saint John, NB
16    83    Trent Noble    Tracy, NB

Share Button