Nott Takes Firecracker 150!

Fredericton-There is always a lot of excitement when you hear about the Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman division. It is such a competitive division. You never know what will happen and the Firecracker 150 was no different. The Firecracker 150 was the second big race for the Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman division and Glyn Nott hung in there to win the Firecracker Sportsman 150.

Dave Biggar of Lake George came out strong in the early going and dominated the first part of the race. Along with him was St. Martin’s John Rankin.  Rankin led quite a few laps and battled back and forth with Derek Christie for the top spot.  Dave Biggar moved very quickly through the field until he took over the top spot..  After the mid-race break to fuel up Glyn Nott and Matt Maillet quickly challenged Biggar. Coming down to the wire in the closing laps that is when all the excitement happened. Multiple cautions, a red flag and a few cars made it an exciting race. Brent Roy and Matt Maillet ended up with podium finishes. Maillet had late race problems as he was sent to the pits for leaking fluid on the track. Luckily because of the cautions and cleanup Maillet was not down any laps. This put him in position to come back and take home third place.

In the Coast Tire Street Stock division Kevin Mc Keen was very strong winning both a heat and dash and finishing second.  Mckeen started the feature race on the front row and was very strong but it was Charles Gaddess who came out victorious winning the race. This was Gaddess’s first feature win. Gaddess also had a heat win.  Finishing in third was Robert Raynes.

In the AOW it was Joe Hoyt who won the 30-lap feature.  The # 98 of Mike Rayburn was second and finishing in third was Paul Whittaker. Lots of excitement as there were many lead changes. Fans can see the AOW’s back at the track Aug 22nd.

The Second part of the double header weekend will take place tomorrow at 2p.m. When the Enduro’s will be at the track for their first race of the season. The previous two races have been cancelled due to rain.  This weekend the Enduro drivers will be racing in a 200-lap race. The other Enduro events are scheduled for Sunday Aug. 16th (front wheel drive only), and Monday Sept 7th as an end to the ever-popular SPEEDWEEKEND. Fans can expect to see a lot of the regular Enduro drivers’ back in action Sunday afternoon. They say rubbing is racing; in this case, it is for sure. The cars come out to each event during the season to compete for the point’s championship at the end of the season. You can expect to see drivers such as, Ed Vallis, Benji Ruff and Dale Hathaway, Rheal Kenny and as well as many more, participate in these Enduro events. Last year’s points’ champion, Ed Vallis, will be a tough competitor for sure. He knows how to get around the track and be there at the end, after all its an endurance race right!

This Sunday afternoon fans will get to see the long overdue Enduro 200.  It promises to be another exciting action packed event. It’s going to be another WicKID family fun weekend at Speedway 660; so make sure you don’t miss it!

Enduro 200 – Race # 1
Sunday, August 9th at 2:00pm
Pit gates open at 11am
Grandstands open at 12pm
Racing starts at 2pm

Ticket Prices:
Adults (16 and over) $10
Youth (ages 9-15) $7
Children (ages 8 and under) FREE
Pass: Two adults, Two youth plus 4 pop and 4 fries for $30.

Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman Feature (150 laps)
#    Driver    Hometown
1    12    Glyn Nott    Burton, NB
2    26    Brent Roy    Hanwell, NB
3    29    Matt Maillet    Burton, NB
4    9    Derek Christie    Fredericton, NB
5    33    Charlie Wilkins    Keswick, NB
6    1    Micheal Banks    Lake George, NB
7    34    Randy Moore    Saint John, NB
8    12X    Michael Kyle    Berwick, NB
9    70    Dave Biggar    Lake George, NB
10    80    Dan McNeil    Douglas, NB
11    07    Robbie Fraser    Riverview, NB
12    28    John Rankin    St.Martins, NB
13    46    Ron Lane    Prosser Brook, NB
14    54    Mark Price    Rothesay, NB
15    88    Shawn Warren    Waasis, NB
16    45    Calvin Rankin    Quispamsis, NB
17    31    Myles Harris    Nasonworth, NB
18    17    Brian MacNaughton    Lower Coverdale, NB
19    03    Steve Halpin    Saint John, NB
20    11    Cal Hatfield    Rothesay, NB
21    43    Shawn McLean    Petitcodiac, NB
22    61    Josh Arbeau    Fredericton, NB

Coast Tire Street Stock Feature (20 laps)
#    Driver    Hometown
1    7    Charles Gaddess    Minto, NB
2    29    Kevin McKeen    Upr Kingsclear
3    41    Robert Raynes    Nrth Summerville, NB
4    54    Rick Cashol    Saint John, NB
5    13    Jack Lane    Geary, NB
6    99    Shawn Hyslop    St. Stephen, NB
7    04    Joe Albert    Minto, NB
8    20    Jason Shannon    Hoyt, NB
9    88    Brian Fox    Burton, NB
10    2    Matt Matheson    Geary, NB
11    1    John Beers
12    5    Brad Slipp    Saint John, NB
13    40    Bill Belleville    Saint John, NB
14    4    Richard Hartley    Saint John, NB
15    15    Roger Slocum    Quispamsis, NB
16    83    Trent Noble    Tracy, NB

Share Button