Rowe Does it Again at Speedway 660!

Fredericton N.B., June 13, 2009-It was another great turnout tonight for the Pro All Star Series 200. Fans were excited to see racing from drivers from Eastern Canada & the United States.  Pro All Star Series visits many speedways throughout the United States each year and Speedway 660 is their only Canadian stop on their 2009 schedule.

Flemming 3rd, Rowe Winner, Bates 2nd (Norm Marx photo)

Fans saw some very exciting racing the Coast Tire Street Stock division. It was really a family affair tonight and the big story was Heidi Cooper winning the 20 lap feature holding off the hard charger  #88 of Brian Fox and #11 Rocket Rodney Ness. Heidi started the race on the pole and led every lap of the caution free race. This was a very special evening for Heidi, not only because she dominated the feature and took her #1car to the Auto Pride Victory Lane but that she got to share a podium finish with her father. Both Heidi and Rodney have had podium finishes in the past but not at the same time. This is what racing is all about.

Randy Moore was the big story in the Martin’s Home Heating Sportman division as he started on the outside pole and sprinted out on the high side to take the early lead in the 30 lap feature. Moore dominated the race holding off challengers and leading the race until the only caution of the evening on lap 24 when John Rankin and Cody Price got together and spun between turn 3 and 4. In the closing laps, Moore was being challenged for the lead by Cal Hatfield. The two of them battled back and forth until the last lap when the two got together and Hatfield spun coming to the checkers in turn 3 and 4.  This resulted in Moore being put to the back with Hatfield, which gave the win to Myles Harris. Finishing a close second was Michael Banks and rounding out the top three was Glyn Nott.

It’s never over till the last lap. This was the case in the Pro All Star Series 200. In the early laps of the race pole sitter, DJ Shaw and Kelly Moore battled for the lead. It wasn’t long before Saint. John’s Lonnie Sommerville had moved up to challenge for the lead from Kelly Moore. Sommerville soon had the #28 Ford of Kirk Thibeau knocking on his door.  The two of them battled for most of race. Restart after restart they would take turns sprinting out into the lead.  Quietly moving up was the #4 of Ben Rowe. He had been in the top five for most of the race. Throughout all the cautions and mechanical problems Sommerville had remained up front until after the break at half way. After that Sommerville experienced a right front tire going down causing him to lose positions and eventually spin out. After the problem was fixed Sommerville began moving back up towards the front but ending up a little short.

In the closing laps of the race Ben Rowe had moved into the lead and never looked back. Rowe held off  the #98 of Adam Bates and the  #97 belonging to John Flemming for the win.  Of the local cars Lonnie Sommerville finished in the highest position finishing seventh on the grid. Also, Shawn Tucker finished in 9th and Greg Fahey rounded out the top ten.

The Pro All Star Series next race on the schedule is in Unity, ME.

Sunday, June 14 will be the second day of the double header weekend featuring the Enduro 200.

Don’t miss it race fans. This weekend promises to be a very exciting weekend of racing.  So come on out to the Geary Woods this weekend and check out Speedway 660 for some WicKID Family Fun.

Enduro 200
Sunday, June 14th @ 2p.m.
Pit gates open at 11a.m.
Grandstands open at 12p.m.
Racing starts at 2p.m.

Ticket Prices:
Adults (16 and over) $10
Youth (ages 9-15) $7
Children (ages 8 and under) FREE

Pro All Star Series
(200 laps)
#    Driver    Hometown
1    4    Ben Rowe    Fton Jct., NB
2    98    Adam Bates   Warner, NH
3    97    John Flemming    Halifax, NS
4    28    Kirk Thibeau    Fort Fairfield, Me
5    17    Travis Benjamin    Stetson, Me
6    47    Kelley Moore    Scarborough, Me
7    23    Lonnie Sommerville    Saint John, NB
8    33    Richie Dearborn    Hollis, Me
9    52    Shawn Tucker    Fredericton, NB
10    20F    Greg Fahey    St. Stephen, NB
11    87    Matt Harris    F’ton Jct, NB
12    85    Nick Ribbe    Kingston, Ma
13    35    Derek Ramstrom    Worcester, Ma
14    54    Johnny Clark    Hallowell, Me
15    60    DJ Shaw    Ctr Conway, NH
16    20    Steven Legendre    Danville, Vt
17    8    Cassius Clark    Farmington, Me
18    17W    Brent Wiggins    Fredericton, NB
19    17A    Scott Alexander    Orrington, Me
20    48    Dave O’Blenis    Boundry Crk, NB
21    12    John Dabrowski    W. Brgewater, Ma
22    5    Chris Staples    Brunswick, Me

Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman Feature
(30 laps)
#    Driver    Hometown
1    31    Myles Harris    Nasonworth, NB
2    1    Micheal Banks    Lake George, NB
3    12    Glyn Nott    Burton, NB
4    80    Dan McNeil    Saint John
5    29    Matt Maillet    Burton, NB
6    26    Brent Roy    Hanwell, NB
7    40    Richard Atkinson    Haneytown, NB
8    33    Charlie Wilkins    Keswick, NB
9    28    John Rankin    St. Martin’s NB
10    88    Shawn Warren    Waasis, NB
11    9    Derek Christie    Fredericton, NB
12    5    Wade Harris    Canal, NB
13    83    Corey Little    Rowley, NB
14    07    Robbie Fraser    Riverview, NB
15    54    Rick Cashol    Saint John, NB
16    11    Cal Hatfield    Rothesay, NB
17    34    Randy Moore    Saint John, NB
18    81    Cody Price    Hatfield, NB
19    70    Dave Biggar    Lake George, NB
20    03    Steve Halpin    Saint John, NB

Coast Tire Street Stock Feature
(20 laps)
#    Driver    Hometown
1    1    Heidi Cooper    Hanwell,, NB
2    88    Brian Fox    Burton, NB
3    41    Robert Raynes    Nrth Summerville, NB
4    11    Rodney Ness    Hanwell, NB
5    99    Shawn Hyslop    St. Stephen, NB
6    40    Bill Belleville    Saint John, NB
7    7    Charles Gaddess    Minto, NB
8    29    Kevin McKeen    Upper Kingsclear, NB
9    20    Jason Shannon    Hoyt, NB
10    13    Jack Lane    Geary, NB
11    15    Roger Slocum    Young’s Cove, NB
12    23    Mike Francis    Saint John, NB
13    2    Matt Matheson    Geary, NB
14    4    Richard Hartley    Saint John, NB
15    54    Rick Cashol    Saint John, NB

Share Button