Riverview Season Opener is in the Books!

Fredericton N.B. – After a long awaited season, the Riverview Ford Lincoln Season Opener at Speedway 660 was a huge success. The Riverview Ford Lincoln Season Opener is now in the books and boy, what a night it was. The weather was perfect, a huge crowd, new drivers, new paint schemes as well as a great night of excitement.

Starting off the evening was the Coast Tire Street Stocks with their heats. At the beginning of the night Shawn Hyslop started out his evening very well by winning his heat, finishing second in the dash and moving on to take the big 20 lap feature win . Also winning his heat and dash and finishing second in the feature was Brian Fox. Bill Bellville finished third to round out the podium.

In the Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman division the #5 of Wade Harris put up a great fight to hold off “Mr. Excitement”, John Rankin. Rankin started off his night with mechanical problems in practice. After borrowing a transmission from Myles Harris, John was able to challenge Wade Harris for the win. Rankin had an awesome run as the crowd cheered and just fell short of the win, finishing second. John was very happy with where he finished after all the hard luck earlier in the day. Harris had a good car all day, picking up the Robins Inn hat trick, winning his heat, dash and feature. Rounding out the top three was Derek Christie having a great start in his sophomore season.

The Irving Lubricants Pro Stocks put on a great show with some familiar faces returning to the front. The Pro Stock feature went caution free. Greg Fahey dominated most of the race after taking over the top spot from Glenn Rasmussen on the first lap. Greg led until Matt Harris took the lead from him late in the 40 lapper and went on to win.

In the AOW division it was Jamie Weston who ran very well all evening and took the 30 lap feature. Weston had much to celebrate with not only the win but he and his wife were celebrating their 12th Wedding Anniversary. Also having a podium finish were Ken Deveau and Joe Hoyt. The AOW division will be seen a few times this year at Speedway 660.

Next week at Speedway 660 will host the first the “Best of the Best” event with the MAX 1 Irving Lubricants Pro Stock 100. Lots of pro stock cars will be heading this way next weekend. Leon Christie will be dusting the car off as well as some guys from across the border including Travis Benjamin and Kirk Thibeau.

Race fans don’t forget racing next Saturday Night, 7 p.m. under the lights at Speedway 660, where the big boys play. Come out for some WicKID Family Fun.

Irving Lubricants Pro Stock Feature
(40 laps)
# Driver Hometown
1 87 Matt Harris Fton Jct., NB
2 20 Greg Fahey St. Stephen, NB
3 81 Glenn Rasmussen New Denmark, NB
4 88 Kevin Moore Lincoln, NB
5 97 Chris Duncan Kingston, NB
6 18 Brian MacNaughton Lwr Coverdale, NB
7 17 Brent Wiggins Fredericton, NB
8 69 Brian Gillespie Nackawic, NB
9 3 Brad Mann Glenlevet, NB
10 29 Robert Tomlinson Arthurette, NB
11 12 Mike Kyle Moncton, NB
12 7 Wayne Chase Fredericton, NB

Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman Feature
(30 laps)
# Driver Hometown
1 5 Wade Harris Canal, NB
2 28 John Rankin St.Martins, NB
3 9 Derek Christie Fredericton, NB
4 44 George Jamieson Fredericton, NB
5 1 Micheal Banks Lake George, NB
6 26 Brent Roy Hanwell, NB
7 40 Richard Atkinson Geary, NB
8 11 Cal Hatfield Rothesay, NB
9 34 Randy Moore Saint John, NB
10 31 Myles Harris Nasonworth, NB
11 81 Cody Price Campbell Sett, NB
12 03 Steve Halpin Saint John, NB
13 70 Dave Biggar Lake George, NB
14 07 Robbie Fraser Riverview, NB
15 12 Glyn Nott Burton, NB
16 29 Matt Maillet Burton, NB
17 43 Shawn McLean Lewis Mountain, NB
18 83 Corey Little Rowley, NB
19 54 Rick Cashol Saint John, NB
20 88W Jamie Weston Bains Corner, NB
21 42 Steven Rodgers Smithtown, NB
22 80 Dan McNeil Douglas, NB
23 3 Doug Craswell Flatlands, NB

Coast Tire Street Stock Feature
(20 laps)
# Driver Hometown
1 99 Shawn Hyslop St. Stephen, NB
2 88 Brian Fox Burton, NB
3 40 Bill Belleville Saint John, NB
4 20 Jason Shannon Hoyt, NB
5 7 Charles Gaddess Minto, NB
6 2 Matt Matheson Geary, NB
7 11 Rodney Ness Hanwell, NB
8 23 Mike Francis Saint John, NB
9 41 Robert Raynes Nrth Summerville, NB
10 18 Shannon Brake Quispamsis, NB
11 13 Jack Lane Geary, NB
12 54 Rick Cashol Saint John, NB
13 1 Heidi Cooper Hanwell, NB
14 29 Kevin McKeen Upper Kingsclear, NB
15 15 Roger Slocum Quispamsis, NB
16 5 Brad Slipp Saint John, NB
17 4 Daryll Raynes Westfield Parrish, NB

Share Button