An Evening of Champions!

FREDERICTON: Saturday night at the Fredericton Inn Speedway 660 held its annual Awards banquet to honour the champions and award winners from the past season. The evening is always a hit as a mid winter gathering to celebrate the past years events and get excited about the upcoming season.

The big winners in 2008 were division champions Greg Fahey, Brian Gillespie, Rick Cashol and Ed Vallis.

A sneak peak of the 2009 tentative schedule was released Saturday night with the major events that make up a great summer of racing. Back on the schedule for 2009 is a stop on the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) out of New England. PASS will be running a 200 lap event on June 13th.

In addition to the PASS addition other changes include moving back to 7pm start times for the Saturday night events in 2009. “This is something we have been looking at over the 2 years we started our shows at 6pm and we have found that fans have found the 7pm start times easier to attend on a regular basis” said Co-owner Chris Johnston.

Speedway 660 also introduced a 4 cylinder divisions that will debut in July as part of the Weekly Racing program for selected weeks.

Enduro fans will notice a change also to from Friday evenings for those events to Sunday afternoons. Another result of reaching out and getting feedback from fans. “We found that Friday nights were tough for people to get out to on a regular basis”.

Speedway 660 will also host their first ever 4 cylinder Enduro in August.

Another significant change is that the 2009 season will close on Labour Day weekend this year. “Over the last few years as SPEEDWEEKEND has continued to grow we have found they follow-up races in September have been become harder to make work. Everything builds all summer to labour day weekend and its only fitting that it be the finale”, said Co-owner Steve Burns.

The entire 2009 schedule is expected to be released in February in conjunction with more exciting news.

2008 Award Winners

Irving Lubricants Pro Stock Champion Greg Fahey, St Stephen
Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman Champion Brian Gillespie, Nackawic
COAST TIRE Street Stock Champion Rick Cashol, Saint John
Irving Lubricants Pro Stock Rookie of the Year Brian MacNaughton, Lower Coverdale
Martin’s Home Heating Rookie of the Year Derrick Christie, Fredericton
COAST TIRE Rookie of the Year Charles Gaddess, Minto
Enduro Division Champion Ed Vallis
Sportsman of the Year Brent Roy, Fredericton
Traveled Farthest to Compete Glenn Rasmussen, New Denmark
Hughie Yorke Dedication to the Sport Rocket Rodney Ness
Crew of the Year #87 Pro Stock Matt Harris
Hard Luck Driver of the Year Rob Raynes, Saint John
Phil Cox Ironman Award George Jamieson
Macleans Sports Haulmark Most Laps Completed – Sportsman
Glyn Nott
Most Improved Driver
COAST TIRE Street Stock Matt Matheson, Geary
Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman: Brent Roy, Fredericton
Irving Lubricants Pro Stock: Brent Wiggins, Fredericton
Best Appearing Car as Voted by the Fans
COAST TIRE Street Stock: Brian Fox, Oromocto
Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman: Glyn Nott, Burton
Irving Lubricants Pro Stock: Greg Fahey, St. Stephen
Most Popular Driver as Voted by the Fans
COAST TIRE Street Stock: Brian Fox, Oromocto
Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman: Glyn Nott, Burton
Irving Lubricants Pro Stock: Greg Fahey, St. Stephen
Fivestar Stock Car Bodies by Tucker Racing
Irving Lubricants Pro Stock Division Brent Wiggins
Martins Home Heating Sportsman Wade Harris

Pictures to follow soon!!!

Share Button