Repeat Champions and a Newbie At Speedway 660!!!

Fredericton, NB – As the fall sunshine fades away over the distance, the final roar of the engines sooth the silence of the Geary woods for the last time this season. Today the final champions of the 2008 season for each division were crowned along with some lucky drivers who took home feature wins. Aside from the on-track action, fans were treated to spectacular prizes, given away by none other than the 106.9 Capital FM DJ, Trevor Doyle. Fans were also treated to a 45 minute on track autograph session where they could get up close to their favourite drivers for pictures, goodies and autographs. With the end of racing approaching fast, all drivers gave it their final all for the last dash to the points.

In the Coast Tire Street Stock division the top three drivers going into the feature were either having car troubles or stuck in mid-pack traffic. Starting off the evening, Robert Raynes in the #41 looked as if he may take home a Robin’s Inn Hat Trick award for winning the heat, dash and feature. However due to a wreck in the feature, Raynes was taken out of the running for this award. Rocket Rodney Ness showed the crowd exactly how he got his nickname today, by sweeping through the field and overcoming the first place car. Ness was a rocket today, taking the lead by a car length over the second place car of Jason Shannon in the #20 and the third place car of Jack Lane in the #13. For the past couple of weeks Shannon has had some great finishes and this afternoon’s feature event would be no different. Ness would finish in the first spot, with daughter Heidi Cooper by his side in victory lane, while Shannon held off Lane to take home second and Lane took home third. The division champion title goes to none other than Rick Cashol in the #54 who ended the season with a 20 point lead over the second place finisher, Matt Matheson in the #2. Jason Shannon took home the third place position in the final points while Charles Gaddess in the #7 took home rookie of the year.

In the Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman division the top three drivers in the points division had a very successful night, along with some other honourable mentions. Starting off the afternoon Glyn Nott in the #12 looked as if he too may take home the Robin’s Inn Hat Trick award. However due to a mid pack shuffle between a few other drivers, Nott got pushed further back than he wanted and ended up close to the rear of the field. The #69 Nackawic Night Train of Brian Gillespie seen this shuffle as an opportunity for advancement and gained positions slowly throughout the race, taking over drivers one by one until he reached the first place leader. Gillespie had no problem passing the leader, and took over the first spot at the blink of an eye. Not too far behind Gillespie was third place points contender Matt Maillet in the #29 who was followed by rookie driver, Cody Price, in the #81. Gillespie would hold off the young pair of Maillet and Price to take home the first place feature win along with his seventh championship for the sportsman division. Finishing in second was the #29 of Maillet, who finished third overall in points, and rounding out the top three was the #81 of Cody Price. Taking home rookie honours in the Martin’s Home Heating division was the #9 of Derek Christie and Glyn Nott didn’t walk away empty handed tonight either. Nott took home the contingency award of a Haulmark for the “Most Laps Completed” sponsored by MacLean Sports.

In the Irving Lubricants Pro Stock division a familiar face and a past champion took home an amazing win tonight. After all this driver has been through, fans and drivers alike were happy to see this driver back in victory lane. With a rough start to tonight’s feature event, it looked as if it was going to be a long feature. However after the shuffle of cars on the first couple of laps, the driver’s had a VERY good race with only few cautions. One driver spent the beginning of the race sitting on the embankment facing the fans under the flag stand but soon turned out to be the leading car of the evening. This mystery driver was the one and only Glen Rasmussen in the #81. Rasmussen had rough winter and was only seen half way through the 2008 season, just in time for SPEEDWEEKEND. Although he didn’t get a win SPEEDWEEKEND he took home a first place win in tonight’s feature event. Taking home the second spot, after a hard battle with Rasmussen for the top two spots, was Greg Fahey in the #20. Finishing in the third spot was the #17 of Brent Wiggins. Of the top five championship point contenders, only one person had the best of luck tonight, and that was Greg Fahey. Fahey ended the 2008 season with a 33 point lead over second place finisher Matt Harris in the #87 and rounding out the top three for points was the #17 of Brent Wiggins. Taking home the rookie honours this afternoon was the #18 of Brian MacNaughton.

It’s that time again, the time in the season where we bid a due for the year and say our final so longs to another season. 2008 has been another WicKID season for Speedway 660 and on behalf of the staff and management here at the speedway, we would like to thank all the fans and drivers for their continued support. It’s only a few seasons away until the roar of the engines start livening up the Geary woods for the 2009 season of racing. A new season, new drivers, and whole bunch of awesome racing at speedway 660 can be expected. Until next season, have a great winter and we will see you all back in the spring.

Irving Lubricants Pro Stock – Feature
Finish Car No Driver Hometown
1 81 Glenn Rasmussen New Denmark, NB
2 20 Greg Fahey St. Stephen, NB
3 17 Brent Wiggins Fredericton, NB
4 29 Robert Tomlinson Arthurette, NB
5 87 Matt Harris Fredericton Jct., NB
6 88 Kevin Moore Pepper Creek, NB
7 92 Micheal Thorton Noonan, NB
8 65 Gary Bursey , Moncton, NB
9 2 Lloyd Garnett Dobson Corner, NB
10 79 Chris Duncan Kingston, NB
11 51 Josh Jaillet MacDougall Settlement, NB
12 66 Paul Gahan Lower St Mary’s, NB
13 18 Brian MacNaughton Lower Coverdale, NB
14 1 Vinnie Bonnar Quispamsis, NB
15 31 Myles Harris Nasonworth, NB

Martins Home Heating Sportsman – Feature
Finish Car No Driver Hometown
1 69 Brian Gillespie Nackawic, NB
2 29 Matt Maillet Burton, NB
3 81 Cody Price Campbell Settlement, NB
4 5 Wade Harris Canal, NB
5 9 Derek Christie Fredericton, NB
6 44 George Jamieson Fredericton, NB
7 34 Randy Moore Saint John, NB
8 70 Dave Biggar Lake George, NB
9 1 Micheal Banks Lake George, NB
10 12 Glyn Nott Burton, NB
11 75 Don Shiels Grand Bay – Westfield, NB
12 8 Joe Hoyt Fredericton, NB
13 40 Richard Atkinson Geary, NB
14 33 Charlie Wilkins Keswick, NB
15 26 Brent Roy Hanwell, NB
16 80 Dan McNeil Douglas, NB
17 25 Jeremy Graham Jacksonville, NB

Coast Tire Street Stock – Feature
Finish Car No Driver Hometown
1 11 Rodney Ness Hanwell, NB
2 20 Jason Shannon Hoyt, NB
3 13 Jack Lane Geary, NB
4 40 Bill Belleville Saint John, NB
5 2 Matt Matheson Geary, NB
6 7 Charles Gaddess Minto, NB
7 99 Shawn Hyslop St. Stephen, NB
8 88 Brian Fox Burton, NB
9 83 Trent Noble Tracy, NB
10 18 Kelly Bassett ,
11 05 Dana Brooks Fredericton, NB
12 54 Rick Cashol Saint John, NB
13 15 Roger Slocum Quispamsis, NB
14 5 Brad Slipp Saint John, NB
15 41 Robert Raynes North Summerville, NB
16 1 Heidi Cooper Hanwell, NB

Share Button