Sommerville Takes the Parts For Truck 100!

Fredericton, NB – What started off as a gloomy day turned into bright sunny skies and tons of WicKID action packed fun at Speedway 660 this evening. The tour will leave the track this evening rounding up their final schedule appearance at Speedway 660 for the 2008 season and while winners on and off the track celebrate their victory wins.

In the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour race, the Parts for Trucks 100, The former Speedway 660 drivers (and current) dominated the top podium finishes. Lonnie Sommerville in the #23, who has in the past won a Peterbilt 250 and raced weekly at Speedway 660, took home the feature win tonight in the Parts for Trucks 100 while Rollie MacDonald in the #13 took home the second position. Rounding out the top three was the #48 of Dave O’Blenis, who was also a Peterbilt winner and former Speedway 660 driver. An honourable mention goes out to Greg Fahey in the #20 for being the top Speedway 660 driver in the race.

In the Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman division, the #9 of rookie Derek Christie had a pretty successful night taking home a heat win along with a good run in the feature event. Christie started off the feature event in the second position against the #80 of Dan McNeill. McNeill was experiencing some technical difficulties, ending his race on the first lap which lead to Christie taking the lead. Christie did not have an easy run though because the #11 of Cal Hatfield was making constant attempts to take away the lead position. Hatfield recently experienced a bad wreck at Antigonish Speedway but made a great comeback this weekend holding onto second spot for eleven laps. The only charging Dodge in the divison, #44 of George Jamieson, took over the second spot on lap 13 and continued to edge along side the #9 Ford of Chrisite. After battling it out for seven laps, Jamieson finally overcame Christie to take the lead position along with the feature win. Christie finished out the evening with a second place finish while the #69, the Nackawic Nighttrain of Brian Gillespie, rounded out the top three.

In the Coast Tire Street Stock division rookie driver Charles Gaddess in the #7 showed veteran drivers that he is well past rookie competition status. Gaddess took home a heat win and lead the feature for a total of 17 laps. He looked as if he was going to take home his first feature win when veteran driver Matt Matheson in the #2 appeared through his passenger side window. By the time Gaddess could react to Matheson, the bright yellow #2 had flown by and taken the lead for the remaining three laps and along with the feature win. Finishing in the second place was the #54 of Rick Cashol and rounding out the top three was the #23 of Mike Francis.
Aside from the fantastic racing this evening, fans were given the opportunity to put their name in for a draw sponsored by Country KHJ, 105.3 THE FOX and Moose Light. Tonight’s ballot gave fans the chance to win a set of Eagles Concert ticket for August 2nd on Magnetic Hill. Congratulations goes out to Joan McKinnon who took home the Eagles tickets along with a special congratulations to Mike Cavanaugh who took home the #500 gas card.

Next weekend will be the second off weekend for the 2008 season but Speedway 660 will return with the biggest Sportsman event of the season, aside from Leisure Family RV Centers SPEEDWEEKEND. The FIRECRACKER 150 will take place on August 9th at Speedway 660. Make sure you check this WicKID event out for family fun for everyone.

Sportsman – Feature
Finish Car No Driver Hometown
1 44 George Jamieson Fredericton, NB
2 9 Derek Christie Fredericton, NB
3 69 Brian Gillespie Nackawic, NB
4 5 Wade Harris Canal, NB
5 12 Glyn Nott Burton, NB
6 45 Calvin Rankin Quispamsis, NB
7 29 Matt Maillet Burton, NB
8 40 Richard Atkinson Geary, NB
9 1 Micheal Banks Lake George, NB
10 70 Dave Biggar Lake George, NB
11 25 Jeremy Graham Jacksonville, NB
12 11 Cal Hatfield Rothesay, NB
13 26 Brent Roy Hanwell, NB
14 80 Dan McNeil Douglas, NB
15 83 Corey Little Rowley, NB
16 81 Cody Price Campbell Settlement, NB
17 34 Randy Moore Saint John, NB
18 75 Don Shiels Grand Bay – Westfield, NB
19 0 Frank FraserJr ,
Street Stock – Feature
Finish Car No Driver Hometown
1 2 Matt Matheson Geary, NB
2 54 Rick Cashol Saint John, NB
3 23 Mike Francis Saint John, NB
4 7 Charles Gaddess ,
5 13 Jack Lane Geary, NB
6 88 Brian Fox Burton, NB
7 1 Heidi Cooper Hanwell, NB
8 20 Jason Shannon Hoyt, NB
9 41 Robert Raynes North Summerville, NB
10 04 Joe Albert Minto, NB
11 18 Shannon Brake ,
12 99 Shawn Hyslop St. Stephen, NB
13 11 Rodney Ness Hanwell, NB
14 29 Kevin McKeen ,
15 83 Trent Noble Tracy, NB
16 05 Dana Brooks Fredericton, NB
17 4 Kyle Carr ,
18 5 Keith Hanlon ,
19 40 Bill Belleville Saint John, NB
20 15 Roger Slocum Quispamsis, NB
Share Button