A Three-Peat for Johnny Clark at Speedway 660!

Fredericton, NB: Speedway 660 has become Johnny Clark’s home away from home. The Hallowell, Maine driver led the field to the checkered flag, winning his 3rd straight Pro All Star Series 200 in the Geary Woods. The 2010 and 2011 race winner dominated the second half of Sunday’s race to take the victory in car 54.

“I love this place and we took a big swing at the car at the mid-race break and the boys in the crew did an awesome job” said Clark. “We’ll definitely be back here for SpeedWeekend and try to become the first driver to win three Auto Value 250 races.”

Travis Benjamin, from Morrill, Maine, stayed with Clark for much of the final 100 laps, but was just not able to get around the race winner. Cassius Clark, from Skowhegan, Maine beat Johnny Clark on an exciting last lap pass in their heat race, but settled for third in the feature. D.J. Shaw, from Center Conway, New Hampshire won the other qualifying heat.

“It seems like we are always the bride’s maid whenever we come to Atlantic Canada’s best race track” said Benjamin. “One of these days, we are going to get to the Speedway 660 Victory Lane and we will be back for SpeedWeekend to try to make that happen in the Auto Value 250.”

It wasn’t a very good day for New Brunswick drivers. Shawn Tucker, the 2011 Auto Value 250 winner, ran in the top ten all day, but a late race fuel leak forced him to retire. Tucker ended up 16th. Lonnie Sommerville led several laps in the first half of the race, but his car faded in the 2nd half and he had to settle for 11th. Chris Duncan finished 13th, Matt Harris came home 12th and Matt Matheson had a 10th place finish.

The Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman drivers put on a great show for the fans in their 30 lap feature. Shawn Warren held off Richard Atkinson to win his first ever Speedway 660 feature. Robbie Fraser followed Atkinson across the finish line to take third spot. Warren and Jason Shannon were the Sportsman heat winners.

The defending champion had a big day in the RV World Street Stock Division. Rick Cashol won the 20 lap feature in front of the PASS 200 crowd. Shannon Brake was second, while Brad Slipp finished third, claiming his first ever podium finish.

Next Saturday night at 7PM, Speedway 660 continues the 2012 racing season with a Weekly Points event. There will be racing in the Hanwell Village Mart Bandolero Division, 4 cylinders, RV World Street Stocks, Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman and A.L. Gullison Disaster Kleenup Pro Stocks.

PASS (200 laps)
# Driver Hometown
1 54 Johnny Clark Hallowell, ME
2 17 Travis Benjamin Morrill, ME
3 77 Cassius Clark Skowhegan, ME
4 88 Kyle De Sousa Providence, RI
5 35 Derek Ramstrom Worchester, MASS
6 75 Gary Smith Bangor, ME
7 60 DJ Shaw Cnter Conway, NH
8 4 Ben Rowe Turner, ME
9 24 Mike Rowe Turner, ME
10 2 Matt Matheson Haneytown, NB
11 48 Lonnie Sommerville Barnesville, NB
12 87 Matt Harris Fred’ton Jct., NB
13 97 Chris Duncan Hampton, NB
14 16 Kevin Roberge Quebec
15 73 Joey Doiron Berwick, ME
16 52 Shawn Tucker Fredericton, NB
17 84 Martin LaTulippe Vallee Jct., QC
18 27 Alexandre Gingras Quebec
19 21 Dustin Hubbard Unity, ME

Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman Feature(30 laps)
# Driver Hometown
1 88 Shawn Warren Waasis, NB
2 40 Richard Atkinson Haneytown, NB
3 07 Robbie Fraser Riverview, NB
4 42 Matt Rodgers Smithtown, NB
5 34 Randy Moore Saint John, NB
6 44s Steven Seveck Temperance Vale, NB
7 70 Dave Biggar Lake George, NB
8 31 Mark Harris Fredericton Jct., NB
9 20 Peter Gaddess Minto, NB
10 16 Jason Shannon Hoyt, NB
11 41 Robert Raynes Nrth Summerville, NB
12 12 Glyn Nott Burton, NB
13 26 Brent Roy Hanwell, NB

RV World Street Stock Feature(20 laps)
# Driver Hometown
1 54 Rick Cashol Saint John, NB
2 18 Shannon Brake Quispamsis, NB
3 5 Brad Slipp Saint John, NB
4 9 Rob Pethick Nackawic, NB
5 44 Peter Martin Saint John, NB
6 13 Jack Lane Geary, NB
7 15 Roger Slocum Saint John, NB
8 1 Heidi Ness Hanwell, NB
9 61 Josh Arbeau Burton, NB
10 8 Benji Ruff Carlow, NB
11 14 Andrew Rodgers Smithtown, NB
12 83 Shayne Russell Tracy, NB

Share Button