Fahey dominates Best of the Best, Maillet takes Sportsman 100

Greg Fahey of St. Stephen dominated the Best of the Best Pro Stock 150, winning a provisional berth in the Auto Value 250 on SPEEDWEEKEND.

Leading every of the 150 lap feature, Fahey was coming off a second place finish in the Parts for Trucks 100 last weekend where he led nearly every lap before Shawn Tucker passed him late for the win. This week Fahey was relentless, even with some pressure in the first 75 laps from Chris Duncan of Hampton.

During the competition caution after lap 75 Duncan was late returning, which gave Dave O’Blenis second place. O’Blenis gave Fahey everything he had, but was no match for the “Rexall Rocket” as Fahey took the checkered flag with O’Blenis finishing in second. Duncan finished third after passing Matt Harris of Fredericton Junction on lap 150 to force Harris to settle for fourth, while Derek Christie of Fredericton rounded out the top five and the last car on the lead lap.

The always competitive Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman Division took the track with a 26 car field, with six cars not making the feature Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman 100. Robbie Fraser of Moncton was on the pole, but on a caution at lap 11 Fraser had to leave the race with problems. Glyn Nott of Burton would take the lead over, but 13 laps later Nott would retire to the pits with problems of his own.

Matt Maillet would take the lead on lap 24 and he never looked back, leading the remainder of the race to take the feature, with the bonus $1000 added by Richard and Anne Martin and the bonus money for leading laps 25, 50, and 75 put in by his father by A.J. Maillet & Sons.

Finishing in second was Randy Moore of Saint John, who held onto second from lap 29 onward. Calvin Rankin from Quispamsis finished third after Dave O’Blenis of Boundary Creek and Michael Banks of Lake George got together in turns three and four on lap 99. Brent Roy of Fredericton finished fourth, with Matt Rodgers of Smithtown rounding out the top five.

In the RV World Street Stock Division Shannon Brake of Carbonear took the feature, passing Chuck Morton of Fredericton on lap 19 of the 20 lap feature for the win. Rick Cashol of Saint John finished second with Benji Ruff of Carlow rounding out the podium.

T.J. Madore of Geary took the checkered flag in the 4 Cylinder feature, leading all 15 laps, with 2010 division champion Kevin Peterson of Hoyt finishing second and Ira Farnell of Lincoln rounding out the podium in third.

In the Hanwell Village Mart Bandolero Division Dana Hamm-Cameron of Cambridge took home his second straight feature as Alicia Mowat of Hardwood Ridge edged out Ryan Messer on the final lap of the feature for second place.

Share Button